Sometimes, app creators would like to share app authoring with other team members. With basic team collaboration, app creators may enable app view or edit rights for other team members. The app creator remains the app owner and may grant or remove access rights for others. View App Collaborators may view the app definition and the supporting spreadsheets, while Edit App Collaborators may edit the app definition and the supporting spreadsheets.

Please be aware that it is wise to have only one user edit an app at any point in time. If two users are editing the same app at the same time, attempts to save conflicting edits will fail. App Editors are not notified if there is another editor changing the app.

1. Click on Share, enter the email addresses of your collaborators, click More Settings, and turn on Add as co-authors. Then click Add Users + Send Invite to confirm them as co-authors.

 
2. Once added, you may choose to either allow your collaborators to edit or view the app definition. The default selection is "Can Edit Definition."

Note: Collaboration rights apps will be displayed in the My Apps section, but are currently indistinguishable from owned apps. In addition, neither the app owner's name nor the specific right (view or edit) is displayed.

Collaboration and Data Security

While an app creator may invite another user to participate in editing a shared app (a co-author), there are some restrictions on what the co-author can do, especially when it comes to adding new tables to the app. There are three possible table sources thata co-author _might_ choose from. Only one of these three is allowed, as explained here.

  • From the original author's cloud file system (NOT ALLOWED). 

The reason is that the original app creator's entire cloud file system is available as a source of data. If the co-owner could browse and pick up any spreadsheet, this is a potentially significant security violation. The app creator might have only intended to allow the co-author the permission to help with this one app definition, but in the process exposed the entirety of his/her cloud file system.

  • From the co-author's cloud file system (NOT ALLOWED)

The app typically runs "as" the app creator. Which means that the data sources and access tokens of the app creator are what are used during app execution. Further, if the co-author were to add their own tables, you could have the situation where no single author could see and change all of the data associated with the app. That can lead to apps that end up in a bad state and nobody can really investigate or fix them.

  • From a team-shared data source (ALLOWED)

For fully collaborative environments, AppSheet provides a layer of Team Collaboration capabilities including the ability to define Team-Shared data sources. If the app owner is part of a Team with Team Collaboration capabilities, then every co-author can access and utilize data sources that are marked as Team-Shared.

Did this answer your question?